Detroit Lions

The Detroit Lions are a professional American football team based in Detroit. The Lions compete in the National Football League as a member of the National Football Conference North Division. The team plays their home games at Ford Field in Downtown Detroit. The franchise was founded in Portsmouth, Ohio as the Portsmouth Spartans and joined the NFL on July 12, 1930. Amid financial struggles, the franchise was relocated to Detroit in 1934 and renamed the Lions in reference to the city's Major League Baseball franchise, the Detroit Tigers. The Lions won four NFL Championship Games between 1935 and 1957, all prior to the Super Bowl era. Since the 1957 championship, the franchise has won only a single playoff game during the 1991 season and holds the league's longest postseason win drought. They are the only franchise operational for the entirety of the Super Bowl era to not appear in the Super Bowl.

Detroit Lions Category
NFL on Thanksgiving Day - Since its inception in 1920, the National Football League has played games on Thanksgiving Day, patterned upon the historic playing of college football games on and around the Thanksgiving holiday.
Portsmouth Spartans - The professional American football team now known as the Detroit Lions previously played in Portsmouth, Ohio, as the Portsmouth Spartans, from its founding in 1928 to its relocation to Detroit in 1934.
American football teams in Detroit
Sports in Pontiac, Michigan
American football teams in Michigan
National Football League teams
Culture of Detroit

Total Images: 15671